Original Poetry Forums

The Poets Briefcase/Poem Evidence LAB

12-23-2009 at 02:08:35 PM

The Poets Briefcase/Poem Evidence LAB

I am NOT A LAWYER and have no basis to give you legal advice from this website that you can deem safe to use in a court of law. The information and links that you find below are for you to choose whether you wish to acknowledge as correct or not.
================================================================
Why do I need to protect or register the copyrights on my poems and poetry?
In this Internet age, we can all publish our work instantly and globally with a few keystrokes. Songs and poetry on MySpace, pictures on FACEBOOK...

While in theory, your poems are copyright protected the moment pen hits paper, or more recently, data hits disc, you still must be able to credibly prove when that happened...

AND YOU SHOULD ALWAYS CREATE THIS EVIDENCE BEFORE YOU PUBLISH YOUR WORK ANYWHERE!!!

HOW TO COPY RIGHT A POEM-------------------------------------

You own the copyright of anything you write, regardless of whether you register it with the U.S. Copyright Office in Washington, D.C. However, you cannot win a copyright infringement case unless your work is registered. Many publishers will copyright in your name when they accept your book for publication, but you may prefer to fill out the form and send it in before submitting your work. You can download forms from the Library of Congress at .

A Direct Link To The Libray of Congress
http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl106.html

http://www.copyrightservice.co.uk/protect/

For more information, see Brad Templeton's A Brief Intro to Copyright.
http://www.templetons.com/brad/copyright.html

Instructions

Things You'll Need:
2 envelopes
2 postage stamps
Copy of poem
Pen
Step 1Request a copyright application by calling the U.S. Copyright Office, (202) 707-3000, or write to U.S. Copyright Office, 101 Independence Ave. S.E. Washington, D.C. 20559-6000. The forms can also be obtained at its website.