Original Poetry Forums

Poetry for Healing: Poemeopathy Class

10-13-2010 at 10:31:02 AM

Poetry for Healing: Poemeopathy Class

I find that poetry that can heal is very interesting.
I also find that poetry has healed me in ways.
I am no expert, but I would like to ask all of you
to look at the in formation I have found, and lets see
what we can do to heal some folks.
=-=-=-
The name, 'Poemeopathy' (poh-mee-OPP-uh-thee), is a play on the word, 'hoemeopathy', which involves remedies for the physical body. Poemeopathy is poetry/remedies for the spirit meant to comfort, heal and support.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=--=-=-=-=-=-==-=-=-=-=-
Swollen Hemingways? See a Doctorow

I woke up this morning feeling
incredibly Gorky. So I made an appointment
to see my Doctorow. He said my Hemingways
looked a little swollen and sent me to
get an M.R. James and a complete Shakespeare.
By that time, I began to feel a slight Trilling
in my Dickinsons and some minor Kipling
in my left Auden. The entire experience
was extremely Dickey.

I was referred to an H.D., who asked
about my cummings. She detected traces
of Plath in my Sextons and suggested
I might also have some Updike
trapped in my Yeatsian system.
She recommended that to keep Orwell
and prevent inflammation to my Balzac,
I elevate my Flaubert once a day.

The poem is by the Irish American poet Terence Winch
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Can Poetry Heal? by John Lundberg
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-lundberg/can-poetry-heal_b_145560.html