Original Poetry Forums

Poet to Poet: A Fireside Chat With OP's Remnant

03-03-2011 at 01:00:34 AM

Poet to Poet: A Fireside Chat With OP's Remnant

Those of you who know my work by now, might have noticed that I have eschewed the ever present temptation to publish a book; but the fact is, that I have been working on six books simultaneously for the past 10 years. I will be releasing at least four chapbooks eventually, however making my 4 e-books available for the sake of the Great E-Book Exchange run by Rick Lupert and Poetry Super Highway. What I have chosen to do instead of releasing an unedited book, is to post all of my poems on youtube, which is actually a good way to "copyright" your material. I am so glad that I chose to go that route, because it has given a good indication of the appeal and effectiveness of my poems; whether they are relevant and whether they "connect" with a "non-poetic" readership. the results have been extremely gratifying to me, as I have made 124 vids which have resulted in almost 6,000 "hits"; mostly from Europe and especially the British Isles. Now, since May 11, 2009, when I posted my first one, 6k is not a lot by comparison, but we are talking about POETRY vids, and in that regard, I'm more than "holding my own". I am very gratified and very pleased, because I did not, in my wildest dreams, expect this many "hits". It has given rise to doing the same thing on Blog Talk Radio, where I read my poems to a live, worldwide audence at least three times a week. This is helpful for me because these programs are recorded and maintained in an archive; therefore, if people really like your stuff, they're going to want to hear it again in a recorded archive of whatever show you read your poem. Through Blog Talk Radio, I have come in contact with many poets who have been seeking honest, challenging and technically sound critique. This has led to more Facebook friends, many of whom are requesting my FB "friendship", so they can "tag" me in order