No Offense, Just My Opinion

16 Comments

Tags:
  • Music?

    Poem Commentary

    As I said, just my opinion.

    No Offense, Just My Opinion

     

    The music industry peeves me--more than just now and then

    When it manufactures singing stars over and over again

    Take for example Taylor Swift the teeny-bobbers top pick

    She may be a cute girl but she can’t sing a lick

    To compare her to real singers - well it darn well isn’t right

    Yet, they’ve made her a big star earning dollars out of sight

    Now Kenny Chesney is a fine singer, in my estimation

    But his image is the result of artistic over-creation

    They have tried to make him into a stud, but try as they might

    The poor guy is bald as a billiard ball and only five foot eight in height

       Then there’s rappers galore all creating the same scene

    Striking criminal poses and trying to look mean

    The junk that they spew in the ears of our teens

    Isn’t fit for a porn movie much less a girl of sixteen

    It’s not really music, this talking rhyme they call Rap

    So don’t confuse it with music when it’s really only crap

       What happened to real music - and I don’t intend to be snooty

     But Rap is preoccupied with violence and some girls “big booty”.

    I don’t know about you but I’ve had it with the vehicular loud speakers

    Cruising the streets vibrating you all the way down to your sneakers

     It’s your business if you want your kid to end up totally deaf by eighteen

    But tell your little angel to turn down the volume in that dad-burned machine

      It would seem that melody and lyrics that make sense are a thing of the past

    The music industry sells only trash and creates stars that won’t last

    All available for download on your multicolored Zune or your IPOD  

         For your listening pleasure hidden beneath a manufactured facade.

     

    ©Copyright Charlie Gragg October 31, 2010

     

     

    Poem Comments

    (16)

    Please login or register

    You must be logged in or register a new account in order to
    leave comments/feedback and rate this poem.

    Login or Register

    JadedJezzabel commented on No Offense, Just My Opinion

    11-03-2010

    i agree the music industry leaves a lot to be desired....but there is some real talent still out there, touring and putting out records

    Hampton

    11/03/2010

    You are quite right. Thank you.

    StandingBear commented on No Offense, Just My Opinion

    11-01-2010

    A very real up to date observatory write depicting today's *so called marketing designed musicians* compared to naturally talented musicians of another era. Neil Young is actually the most modern day musician that didn't sell out to commercialism, he never did a commercial, he didn't choose or have to. The times, they have changed.

    Hampton

    11/01/2010

    You are so right. Thanks.

    Teardrops commented on No Offense, Just My Opinion

    10-31-2010

    You have said it all my friend and taylor cant sing . Poor kenny i see your point there they are leading the population to the watering hole of junk and making them drink . I like oldies and they better not miss that up marie

    Hampton

    10/31/2010

    Your comments warm my heart. Thanks Marie.

    WordSlinger commented on No Offense, Just My Opinion

    10-31-2010

    Hampton, time tells all, I am a oldies fan, Kansas City, Chuck Berry all that, and more, then classic rock, but a serious dent on history, it will take a 100 years or more before man makes good music again, in a genre, generation wise, Poetry man Poetry, :) ty WS

    Hampton

    10/31/2010

    You speak the truth my friend. Thanks.

    ginga commented on No Offense, Just My Opinion

    10-31-2010

    Hampton, You know my son is a musician and he echoes much of what is contained here. He has excellent cd'd with great lyrics that speak of worthy topics, nut he ain't no rap artist, studmuffin or scantily dressed porn star. He does however pass for Ryan Seacrest's twin. ginga

    Hampton

    10/31/2010

    Did not know that your son was musician. A Ryan Seacrest lookalike. Wow. Thanks for dropping by.

    Poetry is not an expression of the party line. It's that time of night, lying in bed, thinking what you really think, making the private world public, that's what the poet does.

    Allen Ginsberg (1926-1997) U.S. poet.

    Hampton’s Poems (111)

    Title Comments
    Title Comments
    Searching 5
    The Poetess 14
    Nonsense 12
    Solitude 18
    Lame Limericks 14
    Message to Papa 15
    Young Jimmy O’Fallon 11
    The Computer From Hell 18
    Life Ain’t for Sissies 16
    The Mind In Motion 13
    The Game of Poetry 9
    Silence 55
    WordSlinger 19
    Holiday Thoughts 12
    Sweet Mary 18
    From White to Grey to Black 19
    The Reckoning 12
    And All of That Jazz 16
    Today 25
    No Offense, Just My Opinion 16
    Lucky 10
    You’re Only as Old as You Feel 13
    Saturday Night 13
    Political Change? 14
    The Female Gender 17
    I’m In Charge Here, Aren’t I? ( With Epilogue) 10
    I’m In Charge Here, Aren’t I? 7
    Remembering 11
    This Web We Weave 13
    The End 16
    The Day the Clouds Cried 16
    The Path of Life 12
    My Mother Ruth 12
    Forever–ast
    er
    11
    Humanities Challenge 14
    A Cowboy's Perspective 12
    July in Buda Texas 14
    The OP Poets Parade 20
    The Chatelaine 12
    Shot Through the Heart 17
    Poetry and Fine Wine 18
    The Man What Am 10
    The Final Beat of My Heart 16
    The Rainbow of Poets 19
    A Cowboy's Lament 13
    Of This World I am Not 17
    The Wee People 19
    An Evening at an Irish Pub 15
    The Scent of Love 14
    Fresh News from Buda Texas 16
    Memories of Times Past 13
    The Dance of the Poets 20
    The Confession 14
    Road to Obscurity 18
    Barbara 14
    Shadows 15
    Prescience 17
    Words That Bind 54
    Wondering 26
    New Year News from Buda Texas 13
    We Are All Witnesses 16
    Christmas 25
    A Cowboy’s Prayer 29
    The 9 ers 24
    Love Defined 27
    Tis a Time to Give Thanks 21
    More News From Buda Texas 26
    Choices 26
    News from Buda, Texas 21
    In Search of God 21
    Writers of Poems (WOPs) 26
    Out of the Darkness 15
    Visions from Within the Mist 18
    Baseball 12
    The Night Stalker 16
    The Man I Presume to be Buck 16
    The Sounds of Time 17
    The Little Man in the Green Hat 18
    Blah Blah Blah 14
    One Two Three 13
    Carpe Viam 11
    Love in the Afternoon 13
    The Moth 14
    Lost & Dungeons of the Mind 11
    The Creative Process 19
    The Truth and the Tribe 19
    The Long Wait. 19
    Feathers 26
    The Arrow 14
    Take Two Cialis and Call Me in the Morning 26
    Ghostly Images 16
    Friends 11
    Angels Without Wings 20
    IN MY OWN WORDS 13
    The Rider 16
    Pride and Shame 18
    The Winning Poet is.... 21
    Memories 13
    Politicians 67
    Your Mailbox Is Empty 18
    God's Visit 17
    Poets and Poems 20
    Love Thy Neighbor 13
    Renewal 8
    The Roar of Silence 17
    Blessed Are These Days 4
    Time and Space 5
    Life's Journey 8
    Gift To The Fallen 16
    Hunger 21
    The Antique Shop 30