Original Poetry Forums

Street poets VS. Academic poets

11-06-2010 at 08:45:12 AM

RE: RE: Street poets VS. Academic poets

Quote:
Originally Posted by WordSlinger

WWWorrrrrrdddsssslllllllliiiinnnngggggggerrrr
is a poet with 4 wheel drive, so lets go for a ride.

WARNING!!! RECITE @ YOUR OWN RISK WARNING!!! ....
I have written (self taught) Poetry since 15 October 1987, until recently
I am studying the greats, and have started the School here on OP.
I have rounded up the teachers via the net. Kabbalistic, RHPeat,
Neville, Oren, Thought Caster, Balladeer, Rhafam. I only done this to add to our
tool box( training), my fellow citizens here on OP.
Don't worry, I won't loose the old school WordSlinger feel.
I just want to add more to the 21st Century deal, lol

I create poems in all genres so don't trip!....

I have to take the road that Bruce Lee took towards the Martial Arts, as an
Analogy here. Like Water; I take the Literature Arts of Poetry.
In the beginning I used free verse, swift rhyming, lyrical, rap-groove verse.
With definition and aggression. Now I try deferent systems , in all genres, as always,
And put them to my personal use, furthermore put to use what is useful when needed,
and reject what I dont need at the time for a specific write. Using no specific way is the way,
I am the way I write, but keeping in mind, the tools at hand. No limitations as the limitation.
With all poetry styles ( trapping, and grabbing )-(Mind locks-Heart locks-Spiritual locks-)
Honestly expressing ones self is difficult to do: The Poet, the creating individual is always
more important than any style or system. Absorb what is useful, discard what is useless,
And add to what is your own. I write my own interpretation of poetry. Concepts behind concepts.
Dedicating to creating creative new-original thoughts, and poetry. Like I write with one hand, but if I could write with the other, at the same time, a different poem, that would be to break boundaries.